Categories of love

Hakim al-Umma Hadhrat Mawlana Ashraf ‘Ali Thanawi (may Allah have mercy on him) said,

‘There are two categories of love,

1. The intellectual and

2. The emotional

Of these it is essential to acquire the intellectual one. That is, being obedient in following the commands of the beloved by annihilating one’s desires and determinations by giving priority to none except them.

Whereas the emotional love, that is being attracted, having fascination and yearning is beyond one’s volition and control and therefore, not an essential requirement to be accquired.

The one that we are required to have is the intellectual love that is within our control.’

Ardha e Haqq, Mawaiz Ashrafiya, volume 15, page 62

P.S. It is essential to understand that, Hakim al-Umma is not downgrading the category of emotional love. The message is to take control and acquire what is within one’s reach. InshaAllah, eventually the blessings of obedience will bring the (true) emotional component along. Also, it is reminder to us that only emotional love without obedience is deficient and unflattering.